2006-2007 Accessibility Plan

Issued: December 2006
ISSN #: 1911-3617
PDF Version PDF document [ 68 Kb / 11 pages | Download Adobe Reader ]

Table of Contents


Introduction

In June 2005, the Ontario government took a strong stand on accessibility when it passed the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) into law.

The AODA lays out a comprehensive roadmap to make Ontario accessible to all people through the development, implementation and enforcement of new, mandatory accessibility standards for some of the most important aspects of people’s lives.

The two standards currently in development cover the areas of transportation and customer service. On June 13, 2006, the first anniversary of the passage of the AODA, the government announced the development of three new standards that will address information and communications, the built environment, and employment. 

While the government is moving forward to implement the AODA, there will be a transition period where government and the broader public sector will continue to meet their obligations under the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA). These obligations will remain in effect until they are repealed and replaced by standards under the new act.

Under the ODA, Ontario government ministries, municipalities, hospitals, school boards, colleges, universities and public transportation organizations are required to develop annual accessibility plans to make policies, practices, programs, services and buildings more accessible to people with disabilities. These plans must be made available to the public. Accessibility planning efforts to date have developed a strong foundation for the development of accessibility standards that will mean real and effective change.

This document is the first-annual accessibility plan developed by the Ministry of Health Promotion. It highlights our achievements during 2005-06 and outlines our commitments for 2006-07 — so that no new barriers are created, and over time, existing ones are removed.

This ministry intends to build on its achievements by implementing initiatives that support the government's commitment to continue to make Ontario an inclusive and accessible province where people of all abilities have a chance to fully achieve their potential.


Report on Achievements

2005 - 2006 Accessibility Improvement Initiatives

In 2006, the offices of the Ministry of Health Promotion will move to new locations at 777 Bay Street and a consolidation of our programs areas at 393 University Avenue in Toronto.

To ensure that our new offices provide accessibility for people with disabilities, the ministry established a working group composed of representatives from each of the affected areas. The working group’s mandate was to provide input on a variety of issues, including layout and design of work spaces.

In compliance with government policies on workplace standards, ergonomic specialists were retained to assess current workplace configurations and advise on ergonomic equipment, such as task chairs fitted to staff so that repetitive strain injuries may be avoided.

Commitments — Measures to Prevent New Barriers

In the coming year, the ministry commits to assess its acts, regulations, policies, programs, practices and services to determine their effect on accessibility for people with disabilities. This section summarizes these commitments.

Customer service

Commitment:
The ministry will ensure that ministry organized meetings and events at public venues provide accessibility for people with disabilities. The ministry will ensure that requests concerning accessibility for people with disabilities at venues hosting public-health-related meetings and events are dealt with in a timely and cost-effective manner.

Commitment:
The ministry will appoint an executive lead and maintain an Accessibility Working Group with representation from each branch of the ministry. The Accessibility Working Group will be responsible for monitoring implementation of the Ministry of Health Promotion’s 2006-2007 Accessibility Plan, and reporting results. The Ministry Accessibility Working Group will meet regularly to review the Accessibility Plan to identify customer service needs and discuss achievements and progress on ODA compliance.

Commitment:
The Ministry Accessibility Working Group will consult with all parts of the ministry to report on accomplishments, brainstorm, and propose actions to be taken to remove barriers through building awareness activities. These activities will support increased staff awareness of accessibility issues and knowledge of how to share best practices for the provision of services to employees, clients and stakeholders with disabilities. This will be done through group activities, staff meetings, workshops and information on Internet and Intranet websites.

Commitment:
Accessibility will be reflected in the ministry’s planning guidelines and operational and results-based plans. Operational planning templates will contain a special note to the effect that “operational plans should reflect the ministry’s commitment to continuously improve the accessibility of programs and services to people with disabilities.”

Commitment:
The ministry will ensure that staff, stakeholders and clients are made aware that, upon request, ministry documents are available in alternate formats, e.g., Braille, large print, audio cassette and computer disk.

 
Employment


Commitment:
Ministry bargaining agents will be invited to provide input into future ministry ODA accessibility plans to help identify barriers facing employees with disabilities.

Commitment:
The ministry will ensure new employees have the most current information on the ODA and resources. The ministry will prepare an orientation package with a strong accessibility awareness component for all new staff. In addition, the ministry will organize training for all staff.

Commitment:
The ministry will seek to increase accessibility in the workplace for ministry employees. The ministry’s human resources department will add a clause to “Offer of Employment” letters asking employees to notify their managers if they have accessibility needs.

Communications and information

The ministry will put in place processes for reviewing all proposed Internet and Intranet pages before they are posted to ensure they are accessible in accordance with the World Wide Web Consortium’s web accessibility standards.

Built environment

Commitment:
The ministry will seek to make continuous improvements to the accessibility of its offices. For example, the ministry will make appropriate selections and alterations with respect to furniture, seating and accessories as opportunities arise.

Acts and regulations

Commitment:
When drafting new acts and regulations, the ministry will consider accessibility and seek to prevent barriers. (The Ministry of Tourism and Recreation Act and the Community Recreation Centres Act, and their respective regulations, were previously reviewed; no issues were identified.)


Commitments — Barriers to be Addressed

 

Customer service

Barrier: The ministry does not offer TTY access.

Commitment: The ministry is developing a process for receiving and responding to TTY inquiries; working to provide appropriate staff training in the use of TTY; working to ensure that TTY numbers are published on business cards, letterhead and the ministry website.

Responsibility: Communications Branch

Timeline: Spring 2007

The Workplace

Barrier: The ministry’s new offices at 777 Bay Street and 393 University Avenue are under construction. While the office plans were reviewed by the working group prior to the start of construction to ensure accessibility, the offices will need to be reviewed again upon completion.

Commitment: As part of the move of its offices to 777 Bay Street and 393 University Avenue, the ministry will seek to remove all identified barriers on the premises and ensure the offices are in compliance with the Ontario Building Code.

Timeline: Fall 2007 and ongoing

Responsibility: Business Services & Controllership Branch

For More Information

Questions or comments about the Ministry of Health Promotion’s accessibility plan are always welcome.

Please phone:
Communications Branch
General inquiry number: 416-326-4846
Ministry website: www.mhp.gov.on.ca

Visit the Ministry of Community and Social Services’ Accessibility Ontario web portal at: http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/en/mcss/programs/accessibility/index.aspx. The site promotes accessibility and provides information and resources on how to make Ontario a barrier-free province.

Alternate formats of this document are available free upon request from:

Publications Ontario
880 Bay Street , Toronto, ON M7A 1N8 . Tel: (416) 326-5300
Out of town customers, except Ottawa, call: 1-800-668-9938
In Ottawa, call (613) 238-3630 or toll-free: 1-800-268-8758
TTY Service: 1-800-268-7095

 

ISSN 1911-3617
Ce document est disponible en français.

Plans d'accessibilité 2006-2007

Diffusion: décembre 2006
ISSN #: 1911-3617
Version PDF PDF document [ 63 Kb / 13 pages | Téléchargement d'Adobe Reader ]

Dividing Line

Table des matières

Dividing Line

Introduction

En juin 2005, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a pris fermement position en faveur de l'accessibilité en adoptant la Loi de 2005 sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario (LAPHO).

La LAPHO trace une feuille de route détaillée qui vise à rendre l'Ontario accessible à toutes et à tous grâce à l'élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à l'application de nouvelles normes obligatoires d'accessibilité dans certains des domaines les plus importants de la vie quotidienne.

Les deux premières normes, en cours d'élaboration, traitent des obstacles rencontrés dans les domaines des transports et du service à la clientèle. Le 13 juin, date du premier anniversaire de l'adoption de la LAPHO, le gouvernement a annoncé l'élaboration de trois nouvelles normes pour les secteurs de l'information et des communications, du milieu bâti et de l'emploi.

Tandis que le gouvernement se prépare à appliquer la LAPHO, la province connaîtra une période de transition pendant laquelle le gouvernement et divers organismes du secteur parapublic devront continuer à respecter leurs obligations au titre de la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario (LPHO). Les dispositions relatives à ces obligations resteront en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient abrogées et remplacées par des normes conformes à la nouvelle loi.

En vertu de la LPHO, les ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario, les municipalités, les hôpitaux, les conseils scolaires, les collèges, les universités et les organismes de transport en commun sont tenus d'élaborer des plans d'accessibilité annuels pour rendre leurs politiques, pratiques, programmes, services et édifices plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Ces plans doivent être mis à la disposition du public. Les efforts de planification de l'accessibilité déjà accomplis constituent une base solide pour établir des normes d'accessibilité qui se traduiront par des changements positifs et concrets.

Le présent document est le quatrième plan d'accessibilité annuel élaboré par le ministère de la Promotion de la santé. Il met l'accent sur les réalisations relatives aux engagements définis dans le plan de 2005-2006, et décrit les engagements pris pour 2006-2007 en vue d'éviter la création de tout nouvel obstacle et d'éliminer progressivement les obstacles actuels.

Notre ministère a l'intention de se fonder sur ses réalisations pour lancer des initiatives qui appuient l'engagement du gouvernement de continuer à faire de l'Ontario une province plus intégrée et accessible, où les personnes de toutes aptitudes peuvent réaliser tout leur potentiel.

Dividing Line

Rapport sur les réalisations

Initiatives d'amélioration de l'accessibilité 2005-2006

En 2006, les bureaux du ministère de la Promotion de la santé emménageront au 777 de la rue Bay, tandis qu'un groupe d'employés de nos secteurs de programmes se retrouvera au 393 de l'avenue University, à Toronto.

Afin que nos nouveaux bureaux soient accessibles aux personnes handicapées, le ministère a formé un groupe de travail composé de représentants de chacun des endroits nécessitant un aménagement à cet effet. Le mandat du groupe de travail était de discuter d'une variété de questions, dont le plan et l'aménagement des bureaux.

En conformité avec les politiques gouvernementales régissant les lieux de travail, nous avons retenu les services de spécialistes en ergonomie qui feront l'évaluation de l'aménagement actuel des lieux de travail et nous conseilleront sur l'équipement ergonomique, y compris des fauteuils propres à prévenir les microtraumatismes répétés chez nos employés.

Dividing Line

Engagements – mesures visant à empêcher la création de nouveaux obstacles

Au cours de l'année prochaine, le ministère s'engage à évaluer ses lois, ses règlements, ses politiques, ses programmes, ses pratiques et ses services afin de déterminer leur incidence sur les personnes handicapées. La section ci-dessous résume ces engagements.

Service à la clientèle

Engagement

Le ministère prendra les mesures nécessaires pour que les réunions et événements publics organisés par le ministère soient accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Il veillera également à ce que les demandes par rapport à l'accessibilité des endroits où se tiennent des réunions ou événements relatifs à la santé publique soient traitées en temps opportun et dans le souci d'un bon rapport qualité-prix.

Engagement

Le ministère nommera une directrice ou un directeur général et maintiendra un Groupe de travail sur l'accessibilité composé de personnes représentant chacune des directions du ministère. Le Groupe de travail sur l'accessibilité aura la responsabilité de surveiller la mise en œuvre du plan d'accessibilité 2006-2007 du ministère de la Promotion de la santé et de faire rapport des résultats. Le groupe se réunira régulièrement pour réviser le plan d'accessibilité, déterminer les besoins de la clientèle et discuter des progrès et réalisations du ministère quant à sa conformité avec la LPHO.

Engagement

Le Groupe de travail sur l'accessibilité consultera tous les services du ministère afin de faire rapport des réalisations, de faire du remue-méninges et de proposer des mesures d'action pour éliminer les obstacles au moyen d'activités de sensibilisation. Ces activités auront pour effet de sensibiliser davantage le personnel aux questions d'accessibilité et de lui faire connaître des moyens d'échange sur les meilleures pratiques à utiliser dans la prestation de services au personnel, à la clientèle et aux intervenants handicapés. Le ministère entend s'acquitter de cette responsabilité par le biais d'activités de groupe, de réunions du personnel, d'ateliers et d'informations dans les sites Internet et intranet.

Engagement

Les lignes directrices relatives à la planification ainsi que les plans opérationnels et axés sur les résultats refléteront les questions d'accessibilité. Les gabarits de planification opérationnelle porteront une mention particulière à l'effet que « les plans opérationnels doivent refléter l'engagement du ministère d'améliorer sans cesse l'accessibilité aux programmes et services pour les personnes handicapées ».

Engagement

Le ministère veillera à ce que le personnel, les intervenants et les clients sachent que les documents du ministère sont disponibles, sur demande, sur divers supports de substitution, par exemple, en braille, en gros caractères, sur audiocassette et sur disque informatique.

Emploi

Engagement

Les agents de négociation du ministère seront invités à participer à la planification des futurs plans d'accessibilité du ministère en aidant à repérer les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les employés handicapés.

Engagement

Le ministère verra à ce que les nouveaux employés reçoivent les informations les plus récentes sur la LPHA et les ressources. Il préparera une trousse d'orientation à forte composante de sensibilisation à l'accessibilité pour les nouveaux employés. En outre, le ministère organisera des séances de formation pour tout le personnel.

Engagement

Le ministère cherchera à accroître l'accessibilité sur les lieux de travail des employés du ministère. Le service des ressources humaines du ministère ajoutera une clause dans les lettres d'offre d'emploi demandant aux employés d'avertir leur chef de service de leurs besoins en matière d'accessibilité.

Communications et information

Engagement

Le ministère établira des processus de révision des pages prévues pour Internet et l'intranet avant qu'elles ne soient affichées afin d'en assurer la conformité avec les normes d'accessibilité du Consortium W3C.

Milieu bâti

Engagement

Le ministère s'emploiera à améliorer constamment l'accessibilité dans ses bureaux. Par exemple, le ministère tiendra compte de ces considérations au fur et à mesure qu'il sera nécessaire de changer ou de rénover l'ameublement, les fauteuils et les accessoires.

Lois et règlements

Engagement

Le ministère élaborera les nouvelles lois et nouveaux règlements en tenant compte des questions d'accessibilité et cherchera à prévenir les obstacles. (La Loi sur le ministère du Tourisme et des Loisirs et la Loi sur les Centres de loisirs communautaires, ainsi que leurs règlements respectifs, ont déjà fait l'objet d'une révision sans qu'on y trouve de problème.)

Dividing Line

Engagements – obstacles à surmonter

Service à la clientèle

Obstacle : Le ministère n'offre pas de service d'accès par ATS.

Engagement : Le ministère élabore actuellement une procédure de réception et de réponse aux questions posées par ATS; il compte donner au personnel concerné une formation sur l'utilisation des ATS; il s'emploie à assurer la publication des numéros ATS sur les cartes professionnelles, le papier à en-tête et le site web du ministère.

Responsabilité : Direction des communications

Échéancier : Printemps 2007

Adaptation des emplois

Obstacle : Les nouveaux bureaux du ministère au 777 de la rue Bay et au 393 de l'avenue University sont en chantier. Quoique les plans des bureaux aient été examinés par le groupe de travail avant le début de la construction afin d'en assurer l'accessibilité, il faudra les revoir à la fin des travaux.

Engagement : Dans le cadre de l'aménagement de ses bureaux au 777 de la rue Bay et au 393 de l'avenue University, le ministère cherchera à éliminer tous les obstacles, qui auront été repérés, en conformité avec le Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario.

Échéancier : À partir de l'automne 2007

Responsabilité : Direction des services opérationnels et du contrôle financier

Dividing Line

Renseignements

Les questions et les commentaires sur le plan d'accessibilité du ministère sont toujours les bienvenus.

Direction des communications
Renseignements généraux : 416 326-4846
Télécopieur : 416 326-4864
Site Web du ministère : www.mhp.gov.on.ca

Visitez le site Web d'Accessibilité Ontario, ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires, à l'adresse : http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/fr/mcss/programs/accessibility/index.aspx. Le site promeut l'amélioration de l'accessibilité, et offre des ressources et des renseignements destinés à faire de l'Ontario une province accessible.

Pour commander gratuitement un exemplaire du plan d'accessibilité sur support de substitution, adressez-vous à :

Centre ServiceOntario du centre-ville de Toronto
777, rue Bay, niveau inférieur, bureau M212,
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2C8
Tél. : 416 326-5300.
Autres régions, sauf Ottawa, composer sans frais le 1 800 668-9938.
À Ottawa, composer le 613 238-3630 ou, sans frais, le 1 800 268-8758.
Service ATS : 1 800 268-7095.

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario

ISSN 1911-3617

This document is available in English.